Home » Drama Review » Man to Man: 5

Man to Man: 5

I didn’t see any character development as far as their interactions with each other. Un Gwang has always been fond of Seol Woo since his rescue on episode 2/3. I will admit that I was touched at his recollection of CEO Ji when he was starting out as an actor. So, I wasn’t surprised that it didn’t take long for him to CEO Ji back into the family. Do Ha is still undecided towards Seol Woo [until she kissed him], and Seol Woo is still dedicated to his mission. The baddies are still baddies with no intention of turning new leaves. Our agents well, there’s really nothing to develop when you’re supposed to be in a covert mission, although I appreciate that they find time for romance on the side. So – there’s not much to explore.

I got to see some action that I wanted. I will ignore the few lapses of logic with the mini action sequence that was offered today. Am I seriously the only one who wanted this show to be a true action drama? This would be so good if it focused on the action, with a side of romance, and the comedy is in the romance. I can do without the promised bromance.

As far as the romance goes, I am not convinced that both characters have gained true feelings for each other.  Sure, Seol Woo started to notice her during his Russia mission, but I don’t think that he’s on the level of “true love” yet. He’s still an android when it comes to romance, doing everything by the book. because he’s still in the mindset that this is a side mission, to his original mission. Do Ha too, she spent many years being on Un Gwang’s side. She can’t simply just like the first person to show affection. What about all those years she spent with Un Gwang? I think this would work more if Seol Woo has a competition for Do Ha’s heart to begin with. If Un Gwang was written as a second lead and showers he same affection to Do Ha, I think this would bring out Seol Woo’s feelings – but not on the 4th episode. You know what would be funny, if Seol Woo’s lair has a bookshelf of books dedicated to Romance, or self-help books on how to get the girl.  Needless to say, I was unaffected by their kiss last episode, and this episode.

Okay, I like Park Hae Jin as an actor. I’ve only watched him in Cheese In The Trap before this show. I hate to say this, but I can’t connect with him when he’s trying to be funny. I know, I know, I’ve stereotyped him playing serious roles, and this could be a break off of that mold – but – it’s not working for me. Maybe that’s probably why I am not convinced that Seol Woo really had feelings for Do Ha when he first kissed her, and again when Do Ha kissed him.

This is why I can’t connect with the bromance part of this show. I know the script calls for a funny scene, but I don’t feel it when they portray it. Believe me, I’m all for bromance scenes since BOF days, but this show is not cutting it for me.  I think the show can still pull off the comedic side of things if Seol Woo’s character isn’t written in. If need me, Seol Woo’s comedic antics could surface as he’s trying to woo Do Ha and falters But for Seol Woo to emulate facial expressions that are meant to be funny – it’s not.

We still have two more wood carvings to find, and I ‘m sure more sub plots will come out of the woodwork. The story will progress a little bit further. At this point, we’ve established on who’s on the good and evil side of things. So, it’s natural for a tiny stepback to lay more groundwork for the next arc. Mission: Romance.

Leave a Reply

