Home » Drama Review » Chicago Typewriter: 10

Chicago Typewriter: 10

Secrets are not always taken to the grave. Sometimes, they transcend in time and reveals itself right when things are going good. If the last episode is about Se Ju learning from his past life, this episode is about Jeon Seol having to deal with the consequences. As a bonus, someone else knows Tae Min’s secret.

Well, I’ve been asking who else in the present is connected in the past, and I got my answer. We’ve know our trio are the heroes, and we’ve had plenty of time to get to know them in both timelines. So, it’s time to introduce a couple of villains: Jeon Seol’ mom, and Tae Min.

I’m a little disappointed about the reveal of Jeon Seol’ mom’s connection with her Soo Hyun. I was kind of hoping that Jeon Seol would remember her first, and that trauma carried on in this life. Makes for a better strained mother-daughter relationship. Deeply strained, but healable. Instead what I got is a coward mom who had memories of her past life with Soo Hyun, and didn’t even remotely try to correct that in this lifetime with Jeon Seol. I think she’s still stringing Jeon Seol along because she’s a dutiful daughter who all she ever wanted was a mother. I’m not even questioning the validity of her villainess, no mother abandons her child and can still call herself a hero.

Then there’s Tae Min. I don’t have much to say because I’m still waiting for this pot to boil over. I’m waiting for that one trigger for him to lose it. I thought it was his student [which may or may not play a role in future episodes], but when he saw Jin Oh, I think that might be his snapping point. I’m a little worried though. This can go either way. One, he can use Jin Oh as a source of Se Ju’s downfall. He can run to mommy and say Se Ju really has a ghostwriter, and there goes Se Ju’s career. Two, Tae Min will snap, remember his past and cause more harm to Se Ju, and Jeon Seol – and Jin Oh won’t be able to do anything about it.

Jin Oh keeps breaking my heart. You guys all heard that he can’t be too far away, and be away for a long period of time from his typewriter. Lines like that are always ominous. It means that when Se Ju, and/or Jeon Seol is in trouble in the hands of let’s say, Tae Min, he won’t be able to do anything about it.

Se Ju is remembering more of his past life. I am still not convinced that he’s really attracted to Jeon Seol. I think those are his feelings for Soo Hyun that he’s subconscious and his instinct is following through. Their dates, it’s like he’s making up for the past that he[Hwi Young] couldn’t tell her [Jeon Seol] his feelings for her, and now he can. Why else would he encourage Jeon Seol to remember him? I do think part of him is attached to Jeon Seol because she did rescue him at the cabin, and has been somewhat a pillar when he was facing controversies, and the fact that there really is no other women vying for his affection. So yes, he genuinely cares for her, is it love? Yes but from Hwi Young to Soo Hyun through Se Ju to Jeon Seol. Wow – this is more tragic than Romeo and Juliet.

The past is a different story now that a little bit more light has been shed in their past life. There’s definitely an unspoken love, and passion between Se Ju and Jeon Seol. It wouldn’t be wise for the leader of the resistance to break his own secret agent rule. So as much as he wanted to say “Yeah, I saved you, and I grew to love you”, he can’t. The contrast in this episode is Soo Hyun, and Shin Yul’s bike ride to Jeon Seol, and Se Ju’s bike ride in the present. I want more their 1930s loveline please.

****STOP READING HERE UNLESS YOU WANT MY THOUGHTS ON WHAT COULD HAPPEN IN THE NEXT EPISODES*****

I normally end my episodes without watching the previews, because I don’t want my questions answered before my post gets published. But,the last scene really got to me especially the part where Jeon Seol’s moms’ words are getting in her head. I had to know what happens next. Well, this is why I don’t watch previews.

Based on what I saw, I’m more convinced now that she killed Shin Yul- but, by accident. Her target could’ve been Hwi Young, but Shin Yul took the bullet for the mission. Would make sense because Se Ju is their leader, when their leader fall, the mission fails.

Jeon Seol is going to mirror Se Ju’s attempt at a farewell. She’s going to have one last date with him then ghost him. I mean, I’m expecting a separation, that’s inevitable in a kdrama. I just think that she’s stronger than her guilt, which is really not even hers but an extension of her past.

   

Leave a Reply

