Home » Drama Review » Chicago Typewriter: 6

Chicago Typewriter: 6



I still have to understand Tae Min’s role in this show. Being Se Ju’s rival is not cutting it for me. I think there’s something more sinister than what’s being shown. I have a feeling that he’s capable of something more evil than what his mother could muster up. I just hope that it doesn’t go the violent way and ruining the show.

It finally dawns on Bang Shin’s mom that her daughter can see ghosts. Well, DUH!!! She’s her daughter. Why wouldn’t she not have any supernatural abilities? I appreciate these two characters aside from out trio and Gyun Woo, because they are the link to the supernatural realm in this show.Meaning, in order for everyone to move on, especially Jin Oh, their assistance will be needed. For now, they’re supportive of Jeon Seol, but something tells me that Bang Wol knows more than what she’s leading on. Who knows Bang Shin might be the one to help Jin Oh crossover and somewhere in the distant future – they do end up together. I really hope that Bang Shin will be the link for Jeon Seol to see Jin Oh, and/or recollect her past memories.

So now it’s making a little sense which I should’ve figured out by episode 3 or 4. Jin Oh is a ghost. Ghosts who tend to linger in this world do have unfinished business. In this case, his unfinished business is the novel, and the fact that he needs to remember how he died before he moves on. Dare I add one more, he needs to confess to So Hyoon through Jeon Seol. I do understand why though, because Jeon Seol’s feelings for Se Ju hasn’t solidified yet, and Se Ju needs to get his act together and get his first fan back.

Well, I’m kind of, sort of glad that Se Ju is not in denial that he’s seeing ghosts. I’d like to believe that he believes in the supernatural. Who knows, maybe he’s had these visions before, but because other traumatic events happened in his life, those memories were blocked. I’m confused as to why Se Ju’s doctor said something about fear of abandonment. Shouldn’t it be fear of betrayal, or is that the same when it comes to Se Ju? From what I understand, he left the Baek family. Unless the abandonment stems from his biological parents, which means, I need to see a backstory on that! Could it also be that fear of abandonment didn’t happen in this timeline, but something that carried through from his past when he was reincarnated?

You know, even though Jeon Seol is upset by all this, and words have been exchanged. Her feelings as a fan, if not more, will not change. She’s been abandoned too. The difference between her and Se Ju is that she’s not the type to push people away. She’s the kind of person that will get mad, but given the right gestures, and sincere words of apology, all things are back to normal. This, is the kind of person that Se Ju needs in his life. Someone that won’t push him away like Tae Min’s family. We’ve seen it before in episode 2. She didn’t leave Se Ju in the car, and she did what she could to get him out of the cabin when he fell ill. This episode is no different, because there was clearly a misunderstanding. They just need to see each other eye to eye.

I think this episode is a pure case of bad timing for our trio. For Jin Oh, it’s a bad time to confess because he’s a ghost. For Se Ju, because even when he tries to be sincere towards Jeon Seol, it comes out wrong. And, for Jeon Seol, because she’s not aware of the underlying situation that Se Ju is in, misunderstands Se Ju. I do understand Jeon Seol’s position towards Se Ju, because he’s been hot and cold towards her – which makes the loveline a little bit harder to believe that there’s an attraction there. But – there definitely was major attraction going on in their past lives. I can’t wait for those feelings to spill over in their present reincarnations.

I am honestly starting to get confused with the 1930s flashbacks, but that’s just because I’m also multitasking while watching. Don’t get me wrong. I like the 1930s story more than the present timeline. I can’t wait to see the entire sequence of events. I wish I can figure out the chronological sequence of their respective flashbacks. Since I’m seeing these happen to Se Ju, and Jeon Seol, I don’t really know what happened first. It would be nice to figure this out in order for their story to come full circle. It is too soon for everything to merge since there’s still a lot we don’t know about aside from their friendship in the past. It’s piecing together slowly, on how the three of them are connected in the past. What needs to piece together is the three of them in the present- which is a challenge because Jin Oh is a ghost.

Other than that, the show put a nice touch by making ghost haunt in a comedic way. I wouldn’t mind having a little humor here and there. Also, you can’t end the show saying she’s both their lovers. What does that even mean? I guess I’ll find out the next episode.

   

Leave a Reply

