Home » Drama Review » First Impression: Chicago Typewriter

First Impression: Chicago Typewriter

This was one of the dramas I had wanted to watch when news about this show first came out. I didn’t read any news article that came out, and I haven’t checked the forums to read what’s been happening in this show, aside from the quotes that I see on the Kdrama Quotes Facebook page. Basically, I don’t know anything aside from who’s writing the show, and who are acting in it.I wanted to see how they can fuse a modern timeline with the theme of the past.  I am a firm believer of past lives, reincarnations, destiny, fate,…..etc. That’s why no matter how tired I am at the end of the day, I make the effort to watch this show. I tried at least twice, and was only able to reach halfway and I fell asleep. I [finally! ] was able to finish the episode in its entirety because I decided to watch where I left off the last time instead of starting over and I can’t wait to share my thoughts. I’m 6 episodes behind so you will obviously know that answer to my questions, indulge me.

Thanks to Bang Shin, we get a basic back story [I love back stories!], and I was able to know and like Im Soo Jung’s character. Jeon Sol. I found her character appealing right away. I’m curious because she’s the link, if not the main reason that we’ll be travelling back in time. I’d like to think that the episode, if not the show should center on her instead of our famous author. I’m thankful that she’s not an obsessed fan. It’s less complicated when you add that to the show. Right away I’ve been given a clue to her past life when she mused to herself that she must’ve been a traitor in her past life. So, does that mean that she’ll get to meet who she betrayed in this lifetime? If so, who is it? I’m actually not too worried because all that happened in the past, and whatever it is, she can put closure to that in this lifetime and move on. It’s interesting that a “legend” like her opted to live a life of part time jobs because of her visions of her past life. What visions did she see?

For now, her present is mirroring her past life. She was good at handling guns in the past – that’s why she’s a sharp shooter athlete in the present. She’s a writer/fan of a writer because in her past she was involved with one. Does her having a veterinarian knowledge have a connection in the past too?

I will admit that in the beginning, I wasn’t sure if I’m impressed or not at Yoo Ah In’s character Se Joo. I appreciated the fact that he’s willing to get dirty to play the part of a character he’s writing, but I kind of cringed at what it seemed like boasting that he was rich and famous living in mansion complete with a staff fit for a king, but then again, he’s nice enough to give them all a day off, oh and asking for a deer???. But after finding out that Se Joo is an orphan, that all changed. I absolutely LOVE stories about orphans who make a name for themselves – he definitely earned ALL of it. They probably went a little overboard with the mansion, but I’ll take it for what it is.

That’s the only back story I know of him, which is okay since I prefer to know his 1930s life and why it’s coming back for him now. If only Se Joo knows how true his words were about destiny and past lives. What was he writing in the past that a haunted typewriter made its way back to him.

Have I mentioned before that I love mystery and period/historically themed shows? Chicago Typewriter has both. It’s a no brainer that I’ll be sticking with this show and putting another in the back burner. So it’s not a literal time travelling story where our characters get sucked into the typewriter and will have to type their story as a way out to get back to the present. The 1930’s will be a flashback of their past lives. That would be really cool to see both parallels and contrast of their past and present and how this will affect their future.

So far, I like the set up of our characters, and it was a smooth transition between this time and their past, and going back. For now we’ve seen glimpses of Se Joo’s past connected with Jeon Sol’s. Se Joo’s link to his past is the typewriter, while Jeon Seol’s is a gun. We’ve been introduced to mostly everyone we need to know in their current life. I’ll get into more detail about our supporting characters in the future episodes.

Do they have a mirrored past with them? Will Se Joo have a recollection of his own past life? Will Jeon Seol see her visions again? We’ve heard the 3rd person’s “voice” from the past and I wonder how he will connect to them in the present. We still have to see Go Kyung Pyo’s character before their lives from their past connect to the present.

Let’s not forget that there’s a love story here too. Our couple have already met, and they’re already met with circumstances that led them to share a moment or two to connect. I’m just waiting for the second lead to come and break my heart, because I’m not rooting for the main couple as of today’s episode.

   

Leave a Reply

