Home » Drama Review » Final Review: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon

Final Review: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon

It has been a while since I saw a finale that actually ended where everything was tied up nicely. I couldn’t ask for anything more. I got everything I want to happen for this show to close. I really do appreciate a fan service ending that still ties in loose ends and completes the series.

The show in its entirety isn’t flawless, at least for me.  There were characters/scenes that I’d rather not have been written in, but it did not ruin the entire episode/show as a whole. If anything, some of them was a relief from plots that are getting too serious. Some was given closure in the end though. Not a lot of shows do that. There were scenes that I wished were written in too…like showing us Gook Doo being a true second lead with scenes that makes Bong Soon flutter even though he doesn’t realize he likes her back then, and I would’ve like to have seen more of Grandma.

Below are the characters that I think would still make the show as great as it is without them:

Hee Ji. She wasn’t a threat to either Bong Soon/Min Hyuk or Bong Soon/Gok Do love line. I didn’t like the fact that she was written in as a persistent, if not desperate to get a boyfriend. They could’ve just highlighted her musical skills, and could’ve still remained a target for Jang Hyuk, just like Gong Shim, but her character wasn’t meant for a love line at all. She could’ve been an idol that Min Hyuk attends a concert with Bong Soon inciting jealousy or something.

Gook Doo’s mom. Was she written in to purposely annoy Bong Soon’s mom, to get her jealous? If so, there’s a lot of other things that can annoy a mother. She wasn’t necessary. Her character didn’t contribute to anything useful, even for her own son. I didn’t see her bring him lunch, or anything. Speaking of mom, I’m glad that they cleared it up that she did not hit her husband. If that was the case, why did the writers lead me to believe that she was an abusive wife this whole time?

I probably will be the only one that had some questions left unanswered like: What happened to Min Hyuk’s mom and why can’t he talk about her in front of his dad? Why is Min Hyuk distrusting of the police? Where is Min Hyuk’s dad, or at least his brother during the wedding? Where is Bong Soon’s grandma?

Did anyone else think that Jang Hyuk looked similar to Im Si Wan? Boy, did I really wish that they spent a quarter of an episode diving into his childhood/teenage years so we can see what triggered him, instead of being mentioned during an investigation. They could’ve made it where he was the weak one in contrast to Bong Soon’s strength growing up, therefore he tried to get even by kidnapping women who are weaker than him.

Boss Tak. I feel that the Tak group story ended after Bong Soon defeated them in the warehouse. I don’t see why we keep coming back to the hospital to see their recovery process or lack thereof. There was no lesson to be learned there. I can see that in the end, Boss Tak somewhat redeemed himself and helped a bit in getting information against Jang Hyuk. As far as the high school kids go, I’m not sure where their PC room adventures is of any use during the episodes they aired in. In the end, they were useful to Bong Soon which eventually made sense as a whole show.

Other than that, everything else was peachy for me! The following characters have never ceased to make me laugh. Just their expressions alone gets me smiling. Line or no line, their presence on a scene makes the show enjoyable.

I’m glad that they cleared it up that she did not hit her husband. If that was the case, why did the writers lead me to believe that she was an abusive wife this whole time?

Who wouldn’t love Bong Soon’s dad? He cherishes her the most! He’s supportive of her when mom isn’t. #fathergoals

Secretary Gong. There would be no CEO without a trustworthy secretary. I swear, whenever I see him in a scene, I knew I would be busting out a laugh or two. There were times I felt bad for him, watching him with his dumbfounded face.

Leader Oh. Whoever wrote this character in is a genius! There was not a moment that this character made me stop laughing. Kudos to the actor who played this character. He nailed it!
I love anything with Ahn Min Hyuk and Park Bo Young together. Ahn Min Hyuk’s character was consistent throughout. He knows what he wants and goes for it. He thinks life is a game and he plans like a gamer. He likes Bong Soon, and there isn’t anything he wouldn’t do to be with her. His character need not any development. That is one consistency that I appreciated with him. That’s what I like to see in a leading man. Not someone who still has to figure out in 6 or 7 episodes if he likes the girl or not.

This was possible because of his alter, Park Hyung Sik. There was not an episode where I didn’t ask why is he so handsome? How can he gaze like that in real life and expect the receiver not to melt? They really wrote all the #boyfriendgoals and #husbandgoals into his character, and he played it out perfectly. Makes me wonder if he’s really a player in real life.

Bong Soon’s character on the other hand, I appreciated her growth from the time he met Min Hyuk till her happy ever after. She wasn’t forced to grow up. She knew that she needed to and she took steps to eventually use her strength for good. I liked that every challenge for her is on an emotional level. She doesn’t like the way it feels and she lets it known. If she’s sad, she’s sad. If she’s frustrated, she is – then she moves on. I like that she was able to rely on Min Hyuk with the exception of her sidelining him to rescue Gong Shim. She was able to be honest with him from the get go.

Do Bong Soon is a character I get to love because of Park Bo Young. Her innocent look just makes me want to save her, although I know she didn’t need to be. She’s so charming that even I melt when she acts all cutesy patootie.

Her paired with Park Hyun Sik’s sleekness is a perfect fit. I can watch this two forever, and that’s a long time. Both their acting even if they’re alone on a scene, always moves me. I can’t picture anyone else portraying these characters. The supporting characters certainly helped in the comedic aspect of the show. From Secretary Gong, Boss Tak, to Leader Oh, it was a nice blend adding them with the romantic and suspense plots of the show.One of many things that kept me coming back each episode is because I look forward to Min Hyuk and Bong Soon’s interaction with each other. Its so natural, that I can’t help but cheer them on.

Major kudos to the writers of this show! I’m thankful that 1) they managed to write in natural connections/ skinships (holding hands, gym training, bandaging Min Hyuk’s arm, sleepovers, and many more), 2) for allowing us to wait with Min Hyuk as Bong Soon finds her true feelings for him. Most dramas, both leads don’t realize they like each other and get thrown into cliché’s. Not this one, here we were all Min Hyuk who’s head over heels for Bong Soon and not afraid to show it, 3) For writing in Bong Soon as smart as she is strong. Not too many people see it, but I do. She’s brainy in her own sassy way, and that adds up to her strength, 4) That they didn’t put me through a week of angst when Bong Soon decided to stop a relationship before it started,  5) I’m thankful that they didn’t end the rooftop scene in a cliffhanger, and 6) They gave me a finale full of lovey dovey scenes fit for a romcom.

It’s safe to say that Do Bong Soon is my kdrama hero.

FIGHTING!

Leave a Reply

