Home » Drama Review » Strong Woman Do Bong Soon: 14

Strong Woman Do Bong Soon: 14

JTBC continues to amaze me with this show. What I expected to be a show that shows unnecessary content, boy was I wrong. Today’s episode was jam packed with feels heading into the finale week. The fireworks at the end pretty much described all the feelings I felt this episode.

I knew that Jang Hyun survived his gunshot wound, and that fall from the cliff. I didn’t expect any less from a Jason Bourne of criminals. This would’ve been the episode to explore his character more in detail in exchange for the sauna scene with the Tak thugs and fake monk, and Bong Soon’s parents bickering about divorce. What I wanted to know is how he got out of the car. Did he jump out before it hit water? Was his window open and he crawled out? Did the bullet just graze his arm, or did he pull the bullet out? How does he know of that empty building, was it his or his family’s? Where did he get the cash to spend in order to get back at Min Hyuk/Bong Soon.

Bong Soon started her journey as being normal. I’m kind of sad that she lost her powers, but I’m not because she never used her strength for personal gain. I have been expecting this moment since the episode that showed her mom lost her powers, but, I didn’t expect for her to be super weak where she can get knocked out all the way down just by bumping into her or moving her out of the way. That — broke me into pieces. For once, her mom was considerate of her. I knew she meant no ill will towards her and she wasn’t jealous of her strength before, but I wished that she could’ve toned down an emotionally abusing her all her life. It’s just nice to see that mom would be the only one who would know how to console her at this point in her life. It’s comforting to see a family unit in full support of her.

Speaking of support, her number one fan, Min Hyuk finally received a heartfelt confession back from Bong Soon. Credit to the writer for one, making their “break up” into a short lived one. I wasn’t prepared to see Bong Soon to lose her powers, and Min Hyuk in the same episode, and two, they made Bong Soon’s confession a huge impact on my heart and they didn’t write a “grand gesture” scene. Simplicity really is beauty. Just like their kiss on the beach, it’s so simple but you can feel the power of love. It’s just simply moving. I really don’t have anything else to analyze because this couple is just too cute together.

What got to me in the end, was Min Hyuk’s stubbornness from leaving Bong Soon behind. I started thinking that the Romeo and Juliet dream sequence had meaning after all, because they both died in the end. I freaked out thinking that one or both of them will die and the last two episodes are a montage of their life together, and a montage of developed games in their memory. Thankfully, in the end, Bong Soon regained her strength. I was already crying buckets, yelling in frustration and I couldn’t figure out what the writers have in mind. The power of love – love is the key to getting her strength back. I wonder though if it’s only temporary to help Min Hyuk and she’ll go back to being normal next week. Then again, the show wouldn’t be called Strong Woman Do Bong Soon without her strength in the finale.

Okay, some people might’ve reacted differently [like my 10yr old daughter] about the “bomb” being fireworks. Fireworks or not, it could’ve still killed Bong Soon especially when it was taped on her. It made sense that it wasn’t a real C4 because Jang Hyun is playing a game, and his game is to hurt her and Min Hyuk, not blow up a city block. What I didn’t expect in this show was the extent of the crime Jang Hyun’s willing to commit to play his game. I’m just thankful that they resolved this in this episode and not made it a cliffhanger for the finale weekend.

Leave a Reply

