Home » Drama Review » Strong Woman Do Bong Soon: 9

Strong Woman Do Bong Soon: 9

***Editor’s note: My apologies again for a late post. Parenthood does not take a day off. It doesn’t help that I need to re-watch the episode to screencap the scenes I need in order to convey my thoughts. Now, on to the show****

I enjoyed the episode, although it isn’t the same as before. I felt like some of the antics used to get me laugh is the same, and I need new material. There are some scenes that I can do without and I’m craving some seriousness as well aside from Gook Doo’s brooding moments, and the serious cops.

Bong Soon finally brought the Tak thugs down- literally. Although, I didn’t doubt one second that she would be in danger or lose. Now that’s done and over with, I wonder what’s next for this group. It’s not like they’re a threat to her at all, or will help in getting our main couple together. It’s already been revealed that the Tak thugs were hired by his brother. It’s been mentioned before by Min Hyuk’s dad that he wanted to make sure that his company is not affiliated in any way to this group. The remaining reason that they’re still relevant is because they need to get back at Bong Soon for humiliating them. I think that they’ve finished their comedic run

I looked forward to the interactions between this gang and Bong Soon because it does bring out laugh out loud scenes. However, after 9 episodes, I don’t think seeing these men get beat up over and over again is funny anymore. It’s a little bit repetitive and I did find myself not paying attention to their hospital scenes.The only other way I could think of to keep this gang into the rest of the show is if for whatever reason, they decide to turn over a new leaf and they’d struggle in leading an honest life. But, I don’t see how that’ll be related to Bong Soon, because she needs to showcase her strength surrounding them somehow.

Finally! Gook Doo puts two and two together. He’s supposed to be a detective you know. Especially if you’re supposedly having a one sided love since forever and a day ago, you should’ve used your detective skills in knowing more about your crush. I still need convincing that he really likes her aside from him brooding all the time, and worrying about her, but not actually there for her. I swear every time I see him [aside from his epic drunken business], he’s brooding. I get that he’s the more serious character to the opposite of Min Hyuk’s upbeat personality, but they’ve got to make him lighten up a bit.

Bong Soon’s mom is getting a little too overboard for me lately. I know she wants Bong Soon to live a good life, but she’s forcing her on Min Hyuk a bit too much. She’s actually lucky that Min Hyuk is already head over heels for her daughter before she met him. She’ll be twice as lucky when Bong Soon starts reciprocating his feelings.

Imagine how annoying it would be if she’s both forcing them to be together, and they both don’t like each other? I’d be really mad if she tries to get credit for them actually ending up together. I get that it’s written to get a good laugh out of it, and I’m not going to deny that I laughed out loud. It was funny, but I think her character needs to tone down a bit into being the overexcited mom who wants to marry off her daughter to the first handsome rich guy she sees. I think it’s about time that Bong Soon’s dad steps up and puts his foot down and claim his family, and put her into place.

I don’t know if Hee Ji is confident or desperate. I’m all for women taking initiative, but she’s looking too easy for me trying to convince Bong Ki that they should date. Then again, this is the contrast to our shy Bong Soon. So, I’ll move on.

I’m getting mixed signals from his dad. Does he really care about Min Hyuk or it’s just for show? One minute he shows his concern by beating up the big boss and then the next he’s ready to beat his own injured son up. Now that Min Hyuk’s dad mentioned it, I’m dying to know what happened to Min Hyuk’s mom. Why can’t he talk about his mother?

Our kidnapper is really smart. Which makes him a little bit more scary for me. So, in the end Bong Soon’s battle isn’t just about strength, but brains too. Hee Ji is a target now, but I think it’s because he’s main target is Gook Doo. He must’ve done something to this guy that makes him want to take revenge. I mean, all his victims are in the boundaries of their precinct.

Every hero needs a costume; Bong Soon’s is her pink hoodie. It makes sense, not just because Min Hyuk needs confirmation that she’s the girl who pulled the bus to a stop, but because this is the same hoodie where she used her powers for others. It doesn’t necessarily define her strength, so it’s fitting to use that hoodie here when she’s controlled her power, and have learned other skills to fight evil. The hoodie completes it. It would be cool to see if she starts using her powers out in public wearing this hoodie, all she needs is a mask.

Min Hyuk sure does know how to get Bong Soon to react. I don’t think he’s being manipulative towards her during his stint at the hospital. I think he’s gauging her reactions to see if his feelings for her is reciprocated, naturally – he’d be coaxing it out of her. I just felt bad that Secretary Kim was the collateral damage because he really was concerned for his boss. In the end, we know the feelings are mutual.

On a side note, there’s definitely no competition between Gook Doo and Min Hyuk for me. Hands down, I’m behind the Min Hyuk line since episode 1.

Now about that kiss or lack thereof, I’m kind of glad that it didn’t happen yet. Kudos for Min Hyuk in waiting a little bit longer. The hospital isn’t really the proper place for a first kiss, especially after a day of making the girl you like feel guilty all day.

I think that this is the episode where everything is getting clearer for Bong Soon. Despite Min Hyuk’s plea to stay behind, she’s resolute that she needs to use her powers to find our culprit. That’s bravery. This is also the episode that confirms that she let Min Hyuk step inside her heart.

One thought on “Strong Woman Do Bong Soon: 9

  1. Pingback: Kdrama: Monthly Archives – March 2017 | Aquarianunicorn's Blogs

Leave a Reply

