Home » Drama Review » Drama Review: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon – 7

Drama Review: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon – 7

***Editor’s note: Going forward, I’ll be posting my review for each episode. I find that I lose my thoughts when I combined the week’s episodes together, and/or I prove myself right or wrong before the second episode ends, and I have no content to write. Also, I’m trying something new by adding a few images as I review the episodes I watch. This was something that I had originally intended to do when I first started this blog. I think I have found a way to this now. I intend to slowly incorporate all my ideas into my reviews. I hope you don’t mind the changes, and if you have any suggestions, please do not hesitate to comment. Now, on to the show.

This show has not failed to make me laugh. A few minutes into the episode, my 10 year old, and I are already laughing like hyenas. According to my 14 year old son, we sounded like monkeys from his room.


So, Bong Soon is already dreaming about Min Hyuk! Subconciously, she wants to be his damsel in distress. Which means in real life, that this girl’s attached to him and she doesn’t even realize it. But, it’s not a typical Min Hyuk/Bong Soon interaction if he doesn’t somehow accidentally get hurt by her, both in dreams and reality. HILARIOUS. In reality, she can still be Min Hyuk’s damsel in distress despite her strength. He can still be there for her to support her, no, he’s already supporting her even when her own power hurts him physically.


Even though I didn’t want it be Min Hyuk’s trusted brother who was behind the scare tactics against Min Hyuk, everyone knew it was him, since he mostly defended in the script, and overlooked because his character looked so meek than the other brothers. There must be a reason the he did that to Min Hyuk. He had said that he’s protected him all his life, so maybe, just maybe – he’s protecting him from something bigger than being the CEO of Oseung Group. I don’t think that he really wants to be the CEO since he doesn’t look like a thug to begin with. That’s probably why Min Hyuk was quick to dismiss this because he must’ve also thought the same- that he’s still protecting him. From what exactly, well their father that’s watching them from the window can answer that if this is in even in one of the plot lines in the future. It’s nice to somewhat close this mystery, at least for now.


A contrast between Bong Soon and her mom comes down to intention. She showed compassion even though he beat up the tresspassers in Min Hyuk’s room. The scene where the high school kids bow to her, they respect her – that’s because they know that she’s looking out after their wellbeing in life. Bong Soon has no intention of taking anything from them. That’s why sometime in the future these kids might be crucial in the event that Bong Soon loses her powers and will need help. Her mom back then, incited fear to control them. She used her power to gain for herself. Bong Soon has a really pure heart, while her mom is tough at heart.


Grandma was just visiting. I really wanted her to be a sidekick to Bong Soon. That would be really hilarious to see that a young woman and an elderly beating the bad guys up one thug corporation to another. But, it was a poignant reminder that at the end of the day, what matters most is that they are family with or without their strength. Love for each other is their strength. Mom has a lot of explaining to do though in the future why she treats Bong Soon like that. I defended her in a previous review that she does love her and it comes out wrong. I still don’t doubt that, but now that it’s been given a scene, it should be answered. Who knows, maybe if mom opens her heart to Bong Soon, her strength will come back? Maybe she could try doing that since she’s tried everything else.


Min Hyuk was this close to confessing, and I’m wondering why he held back. It looks to me that Bong Soon is already aware of her feelings but didn’t want to be the one to openly admit it first. I like how the writers are already placing Bong Soon’s markers piece by piece in Min Hyuk’s house. We started with his chopsticks on his table on a different episode, now on this episode, we have the frying pan [this reminded me of Tangled], and the stones on his furniture, and big screen. Not sure if that’s his private gym, but it’ll help him miss her more. I’m sure this will be helpful in future episodes when they go through their separation period, when one or both plays noble idiot. Can they dress up in their Romeo and Juliet costumes when they decide to do that?


Our kidnapper gets creepier by the episode. He’s so inspired by a small theater production that he decided to copy it in real life. WHO IS THIS GUY? He can’t be just some random fan who went psycho, the writers are putting in time for this mystery, and it can’t be just for Gook Doo to have scenes portraying his job. They could still create scenes and storylines for him interacting with Bong Soon as a police officer without having a big mystery thriller. But, they did. So, what’s the story? Is he going after Bong Soon sometime in the future? Is Bong Soon’s help going to be needed to catch this guy? Is this the part where Bong Soon’s strength will be outed in public?


It was a moving moment when Min Hyuk came to Bong Soon’s dad’s shop. He’s a smart CEO, I’m sure he knows what time they close, he didn’t come there for egg tarts and pie. That’s probably one of many reasons Min Hyuk hesitated from confessing earlier. He really is a pro at gaming and strategy! He figured he needed to get everyone’s blessings before he goes after her heart. He knows mom, and grandma practically gave her away, he doesn’t know about her dad yet. Bong Soon’s dad knows that too. That’s why he just gave his blessings right then and there. I’m sure part of him is relieved that he’s not the only one surrounded by strong women, and that he can share this secret with him in the future.


We’ve come the part of the show that Gook Doo sees Bong Soon for who she really is. Will he run away knowing her strength, or will he be in denial? Will Bong Soon try to convince him that he was imagining that moment she shoved him away?


The focus was on Bong Soon’s relationships in this episode. Her family [mom, grandma], brother, Gook Doo, and her blossoming friendship with Min Hyuk. It’s not strange to see a different Bong Soon when she’s with different people. For example, when she saw her grandma, she’s all childish like she was at the thought of Gook Doo. I think that’s because her own mother didn’t give her that chance to be doted upon. Her being protective towards Bong Gi like a big sister would. She’s all tough but endearing and she knows when to cross lines to get to protect him. She’s starting to drift away from Gook Doo. She didn’t even crumple like a withering flower when she answered his call, or didn’t become meek when he rushed to scold her. She’s not even aware of it yet. Her comfort level with Min Hyuk just skyrocketed to a whole new level. She’s able to open up about her and her mom’s treatment towards her, which some women would like to keep secret in order to preserve a relationship. Not her. She’s opening up to him to where she takes him to her stomping grounds, letting him in her life. This is something that she could be sharing with Gong Shim, but she let Min Hyuk in her private world.


I don’t know if anyone else has noticed, this episode focused a very itty bit on the fathers of Min Hyuk, and Bong Soon. It was really quick, but I wondered at those minute seconds why the camera panned at them. What were they thinking at that moment? It’s easier for Bong Soon’s dad. He looks like he’s the happiest husband/father in the world. When he was looking at his mother in law, he must be thinking that how can this strong woman be so gently loving to his child. He must be feeling thankful that she didn’t break him apart when he knocked up her daughter. As for Min Hyuk’s dad, I have more questions than analysis. Was he proud of Min Hyuk for being forgiving, or will he lecture him for being too easy on his brothers, and that’s why they bullied him so much growing up? Was he really intending on giving Min Hyuk the company no strings attached other than the intention of separating from gangster relations? Does he feel sorry that this has been happening to Min Hyuk all this time and he wasn’t there to protect him and/or discipline his brothers?


A thousand words later, I realized that I didn’t have anything to say about Gook Doo. Well that’s because he wasn’t written as someone that would give me a Second Lead Syndrome. I haven’t connected to his character yet. I’m hoping for a backstory as to why he didn’t tell Bong Soon he liked her just as long she liked him. If I knew that at the least, then maybe I’ll give him time for analyzing his character. But for now just enjoy his brooding scene.


***I don’t know who the current Nation’s Son In Law is, but I’m naming Park Hyung Sik the International Son In Law. How can that pretty face of his bring so much emotion in a scene, that you know exactly what he’s feeling. I know a lot of people are weary of the idol-turned-actor thing, but sometimes when they enter the entertainment industry, they’re mostly told what to do, and don’t really find what they’re really good at until thrown into it. Hyung Sik is definitely an actor in my eyes.

Stay tuned for Episode 8 review.

One thought on “Drama Review: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon – 7

  1. Pingback: Kdrama: Monthly Archives – March 2017 | Aquarianunicorn's Blogs

Leave a Reply

